PDP: Gale of Resignation Continues in Abia, Ex Speaker, Dpty Chief of Staff, Dpty Gov Candidate Resign

The gale of defection that hit the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in Abia State has continued with the resignation of hitherto top members and functionaries of the government.

In the latest development, the  2023 Deputy Governorship Candidate of the party, Dr Jasper Uche, former Speaker of the Abia State House of Assembly, Hon. Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji and Chris Nwagboso, a former Deputy Chief of Staff  to the governor have all resigned in the last 48 hours.

Enyinnaya Orji is the son of the former governor of the state, Senator Theordore Orji who until June 2023 was the lawmaker representing Abia Central in the Nigerian Senate.

In a letter addressed to the chairman of the PDP in Umunnechi Local Government Area, the former deputy governorship candidate of the PDP stated that he had “consulted” with his supporters and party members and therefore concluded that leaving the PDP was the best way forward for him.

Part of the letter reads:

“This is to notify you of my resignation from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with effect from today.

“Kindly note that this decision was taken after extensive consultation.

“I thank the party for giving me the platform, which culminated in my nomination as Deputy Governorship Candidate in the 2023 general elections.”

In a related development, Hon Ikechukwu Nwabekee,  a former member of the Abia State House of Assembly, who represented Osisioma Ngwa North constituency also announced his resignation from the PDP on Monday.

The former lawmaker also cited extensive consultation that resulted in his resolve to leave the PDP with his supporters.

Those who resigned has however, not informed the public what party they intend to join.

Feelers from the state indicate that some were poised to declare for the Labour Party (LP) which currently holds sway in the state under governor Alex Otti, while others who hope to be appointed to federal boards were on their way to the ruling Al Progressives Congress (APC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *