CAF Awards: Osimhen, Oshoala Are Africa’s Best Footballers [Full List]

Nigeria’s duo of Victor Osimhen and Azeezat Oshoala have  won the 2023 CAF African male and female footballer of the year respectively respectively.

While Oshoala has now won for a record six times, Osimhen won for the first time.

In the colourful CAF Awards for 2023 which took place in Marrakech, Morocco, 24 years old Osimhen won ahead of  other African super stars including, Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi, Senegal’s Sadio Mane, and Egypt’s Mohamed Salah.

Osimhen one of the top strikers in the world plays for Italian club side, Napoli.

Oshoala who inspired Barcelona ladies to win the Champions league has now set a record for winning for the six times.

The full list of the 2023 winners are:

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications OK No thanks