Wike Approves Demolition of 6000 Builings in 30 Abuja Districts


The new Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike has approved the demolition of illegal structures in 30 neighbourhoods in Abuja

According to information made available to newsmen at the headquarters of the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA), the demolition will affect more than 6,000 buildings including residential and commercial structures.

The FCDA noted that the affected structure were unapproved and shanty towns that now dot several districts of the FCT.

Recall that Wike who was the immediate past governor of Rivers State announced after his inauguration as minister on Monday said that, “we will take back our land and give to those who want to develop, and you must sign that you must develop at so and so time.’’

Confirming the latest development, the FCT, Director of Development Control Muktar Galadima said that the new administration of FCT will carry out a new survey for proper determination of the Abuja master plan.

“We would find time to go back and conduct a new survey, noting that the last survey carried out was in February, 2022,” Muktar confirmed.

The areas marked for demolition are:

1. Apo Mechanic Village

2. Byanzhin.

3. Dawaki

4. Dei Dei.

5. Durumi.

6. Dutse.

7. Garki.

8. Garki Village.

9. Gishiri.

10. Gwagwalada.

11. Idu.

12. Jabi.

13. Kado Village.

14. Karmo.

15. Karshi.

16. Karu.

17. Katampe.

18. Ketti Village.

19. Kpaduma.

20. Kabusa.

21. Kpana Village.

22. Kubwa.

23. Lokogoma.

4. Lugbe.

25. Mabushi.

26. Mpape.

27. Nyanya.

28. Piya Kasa.

29. Jikwoyi

30. Galadima

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *