LG Autonomy: Bauchi Gov Snubs Buhari, NASS, Appoints LG Caretaker Chairmen
LG Autonomy: Bauchi Gov Snubs Buhari, NASS, Appoints LG Caretaker Chairmen
Local Government Administration

Despite the strong opposition of President Muhammadu Buhari and the National Assembly to the misuse of Local Government Areas (LGA) allocations as well as the stranglehold of state governors on the 3rd tier in Nigeria, the governor of Bauchi State, Bala Mohammed has opted to for Caretaker Chairmen instead of conducting elections into local government areas in the state.

Following the expiration of the tenure of LGA Chairmen in the state, the government should have simply organized a local government election in line with constitutional provision, but the Governor Mohammed, on Wednesday sent a letter to the Bauchi State House of Assembly for confirmation of his newly appointed Caretaker Chairmen-designate.

The Speaker of the House, Abubakar Suleiman on Wednesday read the letter which was earlier presented to by the House Majority Leader, Tijjani Muhammad Aliyu.

According to the letter of the governor, the nominees and their deputies- designate are:

Alkaleri: Bala Ibrahim Pali (chairman), Muhammad Idris Bappa (deputy); Bauchi: Baba Musa (chairman), Bala Mato (deputy); Bogoro: Markus Bitrus (chairman), Emmanuel Barnabas (deputy); Dambam: Muhammad Sabo Joji (chairman), Ilya Isah Dagauda (deputy);  Darazo: Zakari Inuwa Labaran(chairman), Samaila Shehu (deputy); Dass: Ado Maigoro (chairman), Yusuf Wakili (deputy); Gamawa: Nasiru Bakura (chairman), Salisu Dahiru (deputy); Ganjuwa: Muhammad Idris (chairman), Ibrahim Shehu Baba (deputy) and Giade: Abubakar Nawaila (chairman), Abdullahi Idris (deputy).

Others include, Itas/Gadau: Abubakar Bello (chairman), Yakubu Sadiku (deputy); Jamaare: Inuwa Moisha (chairman), Saleh Muhammad (deputy); Katagum: Umaru Hassan (chairman), Abdulhamid Datti (deputy); Kirfi: Muhammad Tukur Adamu (chairman), Muhammad Bashar(deputy); Misau: Salisu Hussaini (chairman), Sallau Garba Tela (deputy) and Ningi: Ibrahim Zubairu Mato(chairman), Muhammad Lawan Gudduba (deputy); Shira: Babangida Muhammad (chairman), Adamu Usman (deputy); Tafawa Balewa: Samaila Wakili (chairman), Salisu Adamu (deputy); Toro: Danlami Garba Abubakar (chairman), Auwal Abba (deputy); Warji: Ibrahim Ismail (chairman), Muhammad Sani (deputy) and Zaki: Abdullahi T Musa (chairman), Mamuda Aminu (deputy).

The House after the a brief deliberation fixed Tuesday, 20th December 2022 for the screening and possible confirmation of the nominees.




0 comment

Write the first comment for this!