Usman Ododo of APC Wins Kogi Gov Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Mr. Usman Ododo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) the winner of the Kogi State Governorship Election held on November 11.

The Returning Officer, Prof Johnson Urama while declaring the APC candidate announced that he polled a total of 446,237 votes to defeat his closest rival, Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who garnered 259,052 votes, while Senator Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came third with 46,362 votes.


Pro. Ugamadu, the returning officer is a Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

He declared: “Ahmed Usman Ododo of APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

According to INEC records, The APC candidate won in 13 LGAs, including Okehi, Ogori-Magongo, Ajaokuta, Okene, Mopamuro, Kabba-Bunu, Adavi, Yagba West, Yagba East, Lokoja, Kogi/Koton-Karfe, Bassa and Ijemu

On the other hand, Yakubu Murtala Ajaka of the SDP won in Dekina, Ofu, Igalamela-Odolu, Ankpa, Idah and Ibaji Local Government Areas.

SDP leaders have already indicated that the party will be approaching the election petition tribunal as they have rejected the results announced by INEC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *